Posted on

Wishing to Stay Asleep

Lying awake but no desire to see
Wishing my life contained more glee
Unable to open my eyes to the world
Deep depression, my mind a swirl
I wish not to leave my dreams
Sleep trumps life, or so it seems
Wishing to love my life
But I am so torn up by strife
So many stresses on my mind
I am constantly in a bind
Who am I?
I roll out of bed with a sigh
Greeting yet another miserable day
To ease my sorrow I spark a jay
Why do I drift deeper and deeper into despair?
If only I could care
About the direction my future took
I should just glance and take a look
But my depression kept me down
All I wished to do was pound and pound
Beer after beer
Tear after tear
Tomorrow…
Will yet again be filled with sorrow

Leave a Reply

